71% increase in 48 hours…

I can’t help worrying. I’m trying so hard not to. I’m a numbers girl, and a doubling would have been so nice. I want to be parallel with the guidelines on the chart.

19 dpo – 1911

21 dpo –  3266

Doubling time = 62.08 hours

 * Wails and gnashes teeth*

Betas

Our scan is due for a week Tues (6+5) but I’m considering asking if we can go earlier, next week at 5+5 or 6+1…

My GP also said, from my bloods he got back inc the FBC the haemo did, my white blood cells are very elevated.. what does that mean?

He actually spoke to the consultant at the EPU, which was kind of them, they don’t really grasp I am not treading the same boards this time, and they want me to go in… but I’m thinking that’s just to reassure me (as if that place ever could!) It doesn’t mean they’re worried about me, I hope.

~ by drownedgirl on August 16, 2007.

11 Responses to “71% increase in 48 hours…”

  1. I know it’s hard not to worry, but looking at the graph, it looks like your initial 19DPO number was sky-high, and this number is right on the graph of where you should be 21DPO (albeit, on the high end of that graph). Maybe there was a hiccup in your 19DPO number and this new 21DPO number is more accurate? Sending you good vibes, DG.

  2. I agree with Adrienne, you are still well above the average and anything above Low is gravy. Trust me, I’ve been there.

  3. Quotes to myself:

    * Within the first 2-4 weeks after fertilization, hCG usually doubles every 48-72 hours

    * An increase of 60% in 48 hours is still considered normal

    * Below 1,200 mIU/ml, hCG usually doubles every 48-72 hours
    * Between 1,200 and 6,000 mIU/ml serum, the hCG usually takes 72- 96 hours to double
    * Above 6,000 mIU/ml, the hCG often takes over four days to double

    * More than two in three normal pregnancies have a doubling of the hCG every 72 hours

    * There is a wide variation of normal hCG levels. An hCG that does not double every two to three days does not necessarily indicate a problem

    Source: http://babymed.com/faq/content.aspx?13508

  4. And:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?Db=pubmed&Cmd=ShowDetailView&TermToSearch=2408475&ordinalpos=2&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_ResultsPanel.Pubmed_RVDocSum

    I am convincing myself a slight slowdown in rate of increase is normal. Bear with me!

  5. I know this is just an awful stage. Really not what you needed, and if you’d started off at 100 and gone to 160 I’d be nervous, but your first level was SO HIGH that it’s hard to believe that things have gone wrong here.

    Personally I would not be able to hold out past 6w, but you’ve got to do whatever works for you. Everything crossed for you.

  6. I like numbers too. Unfortunatly, they can be so un-reliable and they don’t tell the whole story. Hang in there sweetie. We are all rooting for you.
    Love, Daisy

  7. It sounds like this isn’t abnormal. Hang in there. The numbers are solid so far. Increased white blood cells are often a sign of infection. Good luck.

  8. Betabase has doubling time records, too.

    The time is a little low, but not out of the ordinary.

    Did you have the blood drawn with an EXACTLY 48 hours difference??? 30 minutes or an hour could make a diff.

    http://betabase.info/showDailyDoubling.php?type=doubling&multiples=Single&bucket=10

    I still firmly believe there’s at least one healthy baby in there.

    hugs!

  9. Thanks for all the comments, I keep rereading them…

  10. Thank you so much for your kind comment, even more now that I come over here and see the worry that you have.
    I think the others have said it well. There is no way to stop the worrying though, I just hope that you are ok whilst waiting for the scan. It’s hard to carry on as normal when you can only think of one thing x

  11. DG, sorry that I have not commented sooner, but was w/o internet for a couple of days. Hang in there. I know that this wait is so so stressful. I am thinking so much about you and hope that all is okay.

Leave a comment