I hope you dance…

 

For anyone wondering how it would feel to have their children via DE.

Today our beautiful DE babies are 6 months old and they are just perfect.

Someone wrote something like the soul of your baby is yours however it came to you… and I really do feel blessed that we have THESE babies, and no hankering over the ones I miscarried. I think often of the donor as she is my friend (what a friend, eh?) but not in the sense that I feel these babies aren’t mine. I don’t really look for anything in their genetics that reminds me of her, if anything, I see my older DS in them (and a little bit of her gorgeous DS and DD)

We had their naming ceremony last weekend, it was very special. All our family and friends know of the babies origin and the celebrant mentioned it in her words. Hobbesy sang for us and it was very beautiful and moving. There wasn’t a dry eye in the room!

I Hope You Dance

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep the hunger

May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love never leaves you empty handed

I hope you still feel small 
when you stand beside the ocean

Whenever one door closes
I hope one more opens

Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance.

I hope you never fear
those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance

Living might mean taking chances
but they’re worth taking

Loving might be a mistake
but it’s worth making

Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out reconsider

And give the heavens above
more than just a passing glance
When you get the choice to sit it out or dance

DANCE…

I hope you dance… I hope you dance…

I wish everyone could find such happiness.

~ by drownedgirl on October 5, 2008.

13 Responses to “I hope you dance…”

  1. They are absolutely beautiful. And so is the song.

  2. What a heartwarming post! Your children are so beautiful!

  3. Well said. Love the song too.

  4. Beautiful.

  5. How lovely! And how wonderful to hear from you! Thank you for posting the pic of your gorgeous children! I’m just so happy for you and your family 🙂

  6. Both just gorgeous.

  7. Those babes are beautiful. Thanks for posting and sharing the picture!

  8. The naming ceremony sounds lovely. I am glad it was so beautiful. I often feel the same as you. My little man was meant to be here, and it makes the loss of the other babies so much easier to take. I still miss them, but I know that thanks to them, I have Ian.

    Thanks for sharing pictures and information about your lovely family. :*)

  9. Oh gawd, aren’t they just gorgeous babies!!!

    xxx

  10. I are simply perfect!

  11. So wonderful to hear from you! I’m glad I checked in! The babies are beautiful, as is the song. Tell more about the naming ceremony…did that take place of a baptism or christening for you? (I’m asking bc I am desperately seeking alternatives – ones that celebrate the babies when they come, but not necessarily tied to a tradition I no longer feel tied to)

    Wishing you well!

  12. How beautiful. I do wonder every day what it would be like and it means a lot for you to share that it is a non-issue today.

  13. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now as I debated using DE. Like you, I have another son and wanted another. I am now 38 1/2 weeks pregnant — due next week! — with a baby girl conceived with my hubby’s sperm and the generosity of an angel egg donor. It’s so helpful to read your words as I wonder what it’s going to be like to meet my baby. I dreamt about her last night — she looked like the donor but I loved her completely. Thanks for being here.

Leave a Reply

 
