Christmas meme

I’ve been tagged by Daisy.

1. Egg nog or Hot Chocolate?
Hot chocolate, Mr DG often brings me some in bed… at the moment I am having a fortified version because I’m worried I can’t swallow any vitamins and am not eating much protein.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?
Wrap! Though it’s hard work, and it always gets left till Xmas Eve. I quake at the thought of presents for three!

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?
White… though we have a penchant for blue ones too, especially Mr DG. Left over from his clubbing days.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
Mr DG often turns up with some.

5. When do you put your decorations up?
Mid December, with some mulled wine and carols playing.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish?
I am a vegetarian, but enjoy the trimmings, roast parsnips, veggy stuffing … and I love lots of accompaniments like glazed carrots and green beans.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child.
Putting up the Christmas tree with my mum.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
I can’t remember…

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas eve?
When I was a teenager I did.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
Lights, ornaments (Mr DG and I have loads, having combined two households)
This year little DG added lots of silver streamers. Mr DG is very product focussed and has to be convinced to chill out. To me, it’s not how it looks, it’s the process of decorating it.

11. Snow! Love it or dread it?
Love it, but rarely get it in London. When little DG was almost 3, it did snow quite heavily and he and I went sledging on a steep hill by our house.

Last year for a birthday treat, I took little DG and little Hobbesy to  a snow park.

12. Can you ice skate?
I can.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?
This year, two babies courtesy of Hobbesy. Definitely.

14. What is the most important thing about the Holidays for you?
I like to have a big meal with lots of people, all a bit mad and everyone helping.

15. What is your favorite Holiday dessert?
I’m not a dessert fan. But I always make mincemeat and enjoy mincepies if I have made them myself, with lots of apple, not too sickly.

16. What is your favorite Holiday tradition?
I like making Christmas cards with little DG. We also go to a Christingle service (although I’m an atheist)

17. What tops your tree?
There’s a power struggle between a big gold star and 2 separate fairies – product of my and Mr DG’s previously separate pasts!

18. Which do you prefer giving or receiving?
Giving.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song?
Holly and the Ivy or Once in Royal David’s City.

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum?
Too sweet for me.

~ by drownedgirl on December 21, 2007.

One Response to “Christmas meme”

  1. Hi DG, congrats on 23 weeks! Hope that you have a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
