Talking of Kate Rusby…

This cruel country has driven me down
Teased me and lied, teased me and lied
I’ve only sad stories to tell to this town
My dreams have withered and died

Once I was bending the tops of the trees
Kind words in my ear, kind faces to see
Then I struck up with a boy from the West,
Played run and hide, played run and hide.
Count one to ten and he’s gone with the rest
My dreams have withered and died

Silver moon sail up and silver moon shine
On the waters so wide, waters so wide
Steal from the bed of some good friend of mine
My dreams are withered and died

If I was a butterfly, live for a day,
I could be free just blowing away

This cruel country has driven me down
Teased me and lied, teased me and lied
I’ve only sad stories to tell to this town
My dreams have withered and died

PS I know I have no reason to be maudlin. I guess it’s the Irish in me. Something it’s probably best NOT to pass on!

~ by drownedgirl on December 9, 2007.

One Response to “Talking of Kate Rusby…”

  1. Now you’ve given me something to do while I’m “supposed” to be on bed rest…read up/listen up on Kate Rusby. I might have to add her to my collection. I haven’t bought a new (non-child related) DVD in longer than I can remember. And, in regards to being maudlin, It’s the hormones. 🙂 But, you know that. Thanks for sharing. I listened and enjoyed them all.

Leave a Reply

 
