For Sarah

Having a D&C today after her long awaited ICSI pregnancy ended with a missed miscarriage.

I found this poem a long time ago on another blog:

Sea Glass

Like a bottle broken on the rocks
Protruding from the surf of our life,
So are the broken dreams of our desires.
Those shards of glass are sharp.

A danger to all who would dare
Swim near our saddened shore.
Yet, the Master of sea and time
Works in our hearts.

He returns our broken dreams;
The painful edges are smoothed
And what was clear is translucent.
They are smooth in our hands, beautiful to look at.

Cry not for broken bottles.
Enjoy the treasures found on the shores of love.

http://vacantuterus.typepad.com/vacantuterus/

I’m so sorry Sarah.

7th November 2004 I had my first D&C, also after a missed miscarriage, and I remember clinging to Mr DG afterwards and saying “We will try again, won’t we?” Whatever would I have done then if I had known how long the road would be for us?

It’s a long hard road for so many, and I wish it wasn’t. All we can do is to hold fast and take love and support from those who offer it.

~ by drownedgirl on November 7, 2007.

5 Responses to “For Sarah”

  1. Fuschia, that poem is absolutely beautiful.
    Thank you for thinking of me today as I am doing for you xx

  2. Thank you for sharing that. It really is beautiful. I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s D&C. I have never had one – both of my losses were miscarried at home – but my heart goes out to her.

  3. Thank you for sharing this. My cousin found out on Monday of this week that she was miscarrying and her D&C was yesterday. If you don’t mind, I will share this beautiful poem with her. This is so sweet. And I am so sorry for your friend 😦

  4. I am so sorry for your friend, and I am mentally sending warm hugs her way. I had to have a D & C with my first pregnancy (it was a blighted ovum, and I was 9 weeks along). Having to go through that just makes the pain somehow worse.

    That was a lovely poem.

  5. i am sorry for sarah too and so glad she has a friend like you for support. none of this is something to go through alone.

Leave a Reply

 
