Two out of three isn’t bad

When it comes to my dealings with the hospital today.

I started by retching and throwing up into the loo (hit myself on the nose with the loo seat) and had to leap out of the car twice before we even left our road, to cough and puke into the hedge. I then vomited in the car. This acid problem needs to be sorted out!

Had my weekly therapist appointment where my anguish at not being able to get the promised ENT appointment (no spaces till after Xmas, am waiting on a cancellation) spilled over into general medical related anxiety (how can I manage with no scans between 12 and 23 weeks!)

“Would you like one now?” she said. And I suddenly saw the good side of her location within the prenatal testing centre. Because, bingo, she found a doctor to do a quick scan (all was well) who said I could have a scan every week if I want, and booked me in for an anomaly scan at 20 weeks, rather than the previous plan for it to be combined with a scan of the cervix and uterine artery doppler they do at 23 weeks.

So that was one hospital department suddenly playing ball.

I then met my two independent midwives and we saw the haematology consultant. He is quite happy to deal with them, and will share my blood count etc with them as we go along. I am not at all anaemic (Hb 14.4!) and there should be no complications with this birth due to the blood thinners as this time round it’s just a prophylactic dose. Furthermore, I can continue on the Clexane for 6 weeks post partum, rather than switching to warfarin which I did after little DG, requiring twice weekly hospital visits with a tiny newborn.

So that was result number 2.

If I could just get the ENT thing sorted, it would be 3 out of 3. In the meantime, I’ll just carry on retching I suppose.

~ by drownedgirl on November 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “Two out of three isn’t bad”

  1. you poor thing with the retching! that sounds awful. dammnit I wish your doctor would step up. 2/3 is not good enough!

  2. Hooray for 1 & 2, hopefully 3 will join them soon.

Leave a Reply

 
