All a bit much

I’m not feeling top of the world. I am working extra hours, worried about twin finances and I am so exhausted. I feel so tired when I get home, I can’t face making myself anything to eat, and for some reason Mr DG has taken to ignoring me… I get into bed worn out and he cooks himself something and I just go to sleep.

At least he was putting little DG to bed but after I intervened  in some stupid upset on Wednesday which had little DG in tears, now apparently it’s up to me to do it.

Add to that the fact I started spotting yesterday and Mr DG hasn’t even asked what’s up, despite me saying I feel unwell and need to rest.

I guess his attitude was rather revealed when he said to little DG “If the babies inside mummy turn into babies that are born…”

He’s not convinced the babies are real, hence I suppose me and my symptoms don’t exist either.

So, not feeling too good.

~ by drownedgirl on October 13, 2007.

6 Responses to “All a bit much”

  1. sounds like he’s doing a version of that ‘protect yourself’ thing that we sometimes do. reminds me of aurelia’s post today about how her husband has grieved differently than her for their losses. Hard to understand the other gender sometimes, and it sounds like a bit of a slap would be a good thing, but that he’s struggling with this a bit,just as you are. I hope he can see through that soon…

  2. so sorry mr. dg isn’t being the support you need right now. can you talk to him about it, or is it too difficult to get him to face his feelings about this?

    as for the spotting – what does your doctor say?

  3. My husband did a bit of that after I got pregnant with my daughter. We’d had two miscarriages before, and while he would always tell me not to get my hopes up, I think that he felt the same way — didn’t want to get his hopes up. I don’t think that he was as torn as I was after the miscarriages (which happened at nine weeks and four weeks), but I do think that he was protecting himself a bit. He did come around after he was convinced my daughter was really OK and going to be part of our family.

    If I’ve learned anything about my husband, it’s that I need to be direct if I want something from him. Kind, but direct. Men don’t seem to be able to intuit anything. Perhaps that might help in your case, but only you know your husband best.

    Take care of yourself, and your little ones.

  4. My husband still has to be reminded that I really have been pregnant 5 times. It really does have to do with the woman carrying the pregnancy not so much him seeming to be insensitive to you. Take heart and just let him know. He can’t read your mind. If they could, we’d all be just a little happier.

  5. I’m sorry things are challenging and stressful for you right now, I hope you get a break soon.

  6. so sorry things are are crappy right now. I hope you can carve out some time just for yourself.
    xo

Leave a Reply

 
