Walking

Today, after some perfunctory house cleaning, we wandered to a nearby festival on a green. In parts rather excruciating live music, amusingly amplified by a group of punters cycling away on some electricity generating cycles.

After that we went to an open day at the ruined cemetery a mile from our house.

lady.jpg

chapel.jpg

Little DG proved himself a child after my own heart, keen to scurry into the darkness of the crypt for a tour, then donning a hard hat to climb the narrow bell tower of the ruined chapel. And you know what… I know he gets that urge to investigate dark and dusty places from me, but I doubt very much it’s genetic… I am quite confident the new babies will have the same sense of adventure. For anyone grieving the loss of the genetic link in a DE child, you will be surprised how much of yourself you pass to your child, regardless of the DNA.

One sobering thing was the many gravestones showing entire families of young children, no doubt fallen prey to a flu epidemic or smallpox.

children.jpg

Something else sobering was my return to find more nasty membranes and clots. It must be linked to me exercising. The last bad bleeding and clotting was after a day out. I did wonder if it would return after walking around today. I guess I need to stop with the walking, for a while at least.

~ by drownedgirl on September 15, 2007.

5 Responses to “Walking”

  1. I’m so glad you had a good day out, but please take care of yourself and the babeletts! I don’t want to read any more hospital posts, “but doctor I was just running a half marathon! I thought that would be OK?” hee hee Yes I know I’m being silly, but after reading your recent posts I’ve been worrying about you!

  2. Lara, how lovely to hear from you! I have been checking out your blog and thinking of you.

    Regarding me not walking about too much, you’re right. It took me a while to work out the link. Thing is… I am being so exhausted/lazy a lot of the time… in the week I am getting in from work and just flopping on to my bed. At weekends I want to do nice things with DS and DP.

    But maybe I need to not plan anything which involves walking about. I’ll make next weekend a lazy one. This week is a more usual one at work – two days in the office, two working at home.

  3. Definitely rest.

    I can’t agree with you more about what we pass along. It’s mostly not genetics or what happens in the womb. It’s what our children observe, hear, see. And little DG will teach his siblings a lot too 🙂

  4. I hope things are okay now?

  5. No, still bleeding… will post properly later

Leave a Reply

 
