Still kicking

Oops, sorry chaps. I can see posting the good scan results only in my own comments worried a few people.

Sorry! I have just been so tired. The trip to the hospital and the wait in the (dreaded) EPU really took it out of me. By the time I’d had the scan, had bloods taken, seen my haematologist and picked up my drugs I was exhausted. And the hours in the EPU waiting to be seen were something! In the end, we had a very long appointment though, and saw the consultant, who fetched in an expert scanner, and everything was thoroughly measured and much reassurance was given. Pinky and perky were pulsating away at 172 and 160 bpm respectively. Mr DG shed a few tears.

So that was Tuesday. Little DG did his first mornings at school Monday and Tuesday, followed by a week of no school at all (mad system) and a row with the minder (don’t ask) so we actually find ourselves with no childcare in place now for after Xmas. Hmm.

I have agreed with my boss to do some extra hours now, then to work at home from Xmas till late Feb, all being well, when I’ll start my maternity leave. That will mean no commuting after 24 weeks.

So that’s in hand and will let me bank some money to pay for an independent midwife and cover my maternity leave.

What I can’t get my head round, is who will look after the babies when I go back to work in Autumn 2008, and how much it will cost. I also don’t have a contingency plan for looking after little DG from January onwards if I end up hospitalised at any point. At the moment, the plan is for me to do it all myself, as I’ll be at home or on maternity leave. It makes sense since we fell out with the minder, and it makes sense financially. But I’m a bit worried it might go wrong.

I have been reading the Elizabeth Noble book about twins and warming to it. She is very positive, encouraging about how it doesn’t have to be medicalised, and downer on dairy produce notwithstanding, her ideas on nutrition are more manageable. I’m a  vegetarian and fairly healthy.

So I’ve added some nuts and berries and kale to my weekly shopping order and some soyamilk and ryebread and will try to eat more smoothies and protein and more snacks and see how it goes. I’m not feeling so sick but my appetite is nowhere what it would need to be to eat the amounts recommended especially by the other twin book, the scary one.

~ by drownedgirl on September 8, 2007.

4 Responses to “Still kicking”

  1. yay for an update. I was getting worried.
    xo

  2. Thanks for the update! Sounds like you have a lot of extra going on right now. Hang in there. I am thinking about you.

  3. I’m so glad it’s all ok. those heartbeats sound magnificent!
    re the eating, is cheese an option for you? I’ve been snacking on mini babybels and those dr karg’s crackers (lots of yummy seeds embedded) throughout pregnancy, and have found it convenient and quite satisfying.

  4. Ooh, that’s a good idea, Thalia!

    xx

Leave a Reply

 
