Fuchsia

Fresh green
with hanging buds
deep pink.

I brought it to you
to cheer your room.
It stood by the bed
midst cards and all those little things
that surround the ill in hospital.

Each day
I watered it.
Its flowers began to fall.
The room was hot…
the room was stifling you as well.

Moved for an operation
you may well not survive,
you told me to take it home.
I wrapped it carefully.

Each day I came home from visiting
to find leaves and flowers on the floor.
Was it still too hot?
I put it outside on the windowsill.
Caught up and preoccupied,
I left it there.

Last night I brought it in, upstairs.
It is shrivelled and weak.
I don’t know if I can save it now.

It was your fuchsia,
if only for a week.

You died yesterday.
Exhausted, stifled by life.
We gave you all our care,
but it couldn’t help.

I held your hand
as you drew your last breath,
and cried,
that I couldn’t breath my life into you.

I won’t let your fuchsia die,
if there is any way to save it.

For you,
I think it was too late,
a long long time ago.

I could only bring you flowers,
and try to ease your pain.

18.06.87

For my mother

22.01.44 – 17.06.87

~ by drownedgirl on June 17, 2007.

11 Responses to “Fuchsia”

  1. A beautiful tribute.

  2. I’m so very, very sorry for your loss. What a beautiful poem and tribute to your mom. Thinking of you.

  3. So very sorry.

  4. I’m so terribly sorry for your loss. What a beautiful poem. She must have known you are a remarkable daughter. My thoughts are with you and your family.
    Daisy

  5. I’m so very sorry for your loss. The poem is a very special and beautiful way of honouring your mom. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Yes a beautiful a very tribute and poem. Thanks for sharing.

  7. 😦

    I wrote that the day after she died, and I still feel like the same bereft 22 year old. Yet here I am, only a little younger than she was when she died.

    It makes no sense to me.

  8. As one who had a life-threatening scare with my own mother this past week in the hospital, your tribute truly touched me.

  9. So sorry for the loss of your mom. This poem is touching and moving in a very real way. Thank you so much for sharing it.
    ~Carole

  10. I’m sorry for your loss– the poem you shared is beautiful.

  11. I just wanted to say hi, I too am doing DE FET #1 in July. Just wanted to let you know you’re not alone in this…hugs, Lara

Leave a Reply

 
