Worried

I can hardly bear to think about the actual egg collection today. It’s suddenly hit home to me how horribly intrusive and painful the whole thing is for KF. Sedation. Eggs being extracted with a needle-y sort of thing (hope she doesn’t read this!) blood, gore, pain and post-op disorientation.

I can say in all honesty that I’d much rather it was me doing this bit. And then there’s every likelihood there will be a dose of OHSS to contend with (hopefully not too serious, and well-monitored)

Sigh. I hope it’s worth it.

~ by drownedgirl on May 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “Worried”

  1. ha ha I’ve read it now! And yes, I’m more than a little concerned myself but dh has helped me through many scary things before so knows the score and will look after me.

  2. Hoping very hard it all went ok today. Btw not sure about your experience but I’ve never had blood after egg collection, just felt a bit sore and poked-about.

  3. thinking of you both.
    I hope everything goes smoothly and safely.
    You both are fantastic and wonderful- & this, this is just the most beautiful act of friendship and love ever.
    xo

  4. Yes – it is totally worth it. My cousin did get OHSS afterwards, which was scary and uncomfortable for her, but looking back she says it wasn’t that bad. Now we have a wonderful little boy with a killer smile and musical laugh that make all those thousands of miles driven and hundreds of injections worthwhile.

    Hang in there, and let us know how it went after the retrieval!

Leave a Reply

 
