When my eggs were 28 years old…

I spent the Summer living on a tiny coral atoll in Belize, carrying out a diving survey. I slept on the beach, didn’t wear shoes, managed without washing my hair, was bitten to pieces with sandflies and saw loads of sharks.

Was I thinking of making babies with my oh-so-fertile eggs? Not at all.

It was 6 years since my mother died. My younger brother and sister were making their way in the world. My niece was in school. I was able to throw over the traces and do something for myself. In the early 90s I finally travelled. Patagonia, Nepal, Thailand, Belize. I scuba dived all round the UK, qualified as an instructor. Went mountaineering.

After that phase, I began to put down my own roots. Found a job I liked enough to stay for ten years. Bought myself a tiny house.

It was in the year 2000, when I was 35 that I met Mr DG. He wanted children and talked about it from the off. Me, I was scared of the idea. I hardly felt I’d had time to be me. But I didn’t say no, and after a year or so we stopped using contraception.

It was exactly 5 years ago, 5th May 2002, when I was 37, that a wild Saturday night changed everything…

Oddly enough, having that first child was the leap of faith. After he was born, I sold my house and bought a flat with Mr DG. Switched my work to part-time and knuckled down to the motherhood thing. Little DG was about 1 1/2 when we started trying for number 2. Almost 3 years ago. 3 long years.

My eggs at 28 didn’t get much action. At 37 they surprised me. When I was knocking 40, I discovered the ones remaining are rubbish.

Lucky for me I have such a good friend, who didn’t dither all her life, and has her family now complete, so she can help me out!

~ by drownedgirl on May 5, 2007.

2 Responses to “When my eggs were 28 years old…”

  1. You sound like you have made the most of your life, you shouldn’t regret a single second of it. It is so wonderful that you and KF are going through this together, it is such a magical thing, I can understand that it must be hard for you with KF’s injections and stuff, but she wouldn’t do it if it wasn’t right for you both.

  2. Thanks. I’m glad you’re doing well. I hope we have the same outcome!!

Leave a Reply

 
