This, that and the other.

Seems like my fervent anguish over what to tell my haematology consultant tomorrow was rather irrelevant (though thanks for all the good advice here and elsewhere) … I started to explain to DP how I was taking him along tomorrow for my appointment because I wasn’t sure how it would go, but I’d decided to tell Dr A about the DE aspect, while asking him to discuss with me the content of any later obstetrics referral.

DP looked blank “I already told him it was donor egg when I called him Thursday for you.” he said airily.

I spluttered a bit. He just doesn’t get my worry over all things hospital related. It goes back to me being the eldest child during many years of my mother being ill with cancer, including her final weeks, when I struggled to get information, to help her get pain relief etc. I am very traumatised, I realise, with a lingering expectation that I will face evasion and not be taken seriously. In a way, my experience of recurrent miscarriage has just slotted in neatly with what I expected already.

On the other hand, I have a good view of haematology. This is in sharp contradiction to my view of womens services. For some reason the early pregnancy unit at my local hospital (and the world famous clinic at St Marys)  seem to be staffed by bored receptionists and snappy nurses.  I recounted a few of my bad experiences  here, but another springs to mind.

Miscarriage number 6. Scan previously has shown a small for dates embryo with a slow heartbeat. Here I am for a further viability scan. Remember this is miscarriage number 6.

Doctor sticks in the dildocam and waggles it about a bit. Stares at the screen and frowns. I can see the screen. I have the equivalent of GNVQ level 2 in embryology and early pregnancy scanning and I can tell right off that All Is Not Well. Doctor frowns some more.

She opens her mouth.

“Umm, I’m quite new at this, I need to get someone else to have a look, sorry.”

Exit doctor. Cue 15 minute wait for someone who isn’t on their first week in the department.

WTF, eh? Didn’t I warrant a proper doctor to at least put me out of my misery swiftly? It was the equivalent of some inept abbatoir worker chasing a half-dead sheep round the hall with a stun-gun.

But I digress. Haematology = good. Is it because it’s not about women and their bits? In haematology they deal in numbers. Test your blood, adjust your meds. I always see a consultant. When I get pregnant or miscarry, I speak to their secretary and get a call back telling me to start or stop the clexane. The consultants have called me at home mid-evening with blood results. They explain the various possible interpretations of my history with me, as if I was a medical student.

And the underlying fact is, they gave me my baby. When I was admitted at 30 weeks gestation with a deep vein thrombosis in my iliac vein, anti-phospholipid antibodies and low protein S, they took care of us both and I was able to have a normal, natural birth at 41+4 despite anticoagulation.

Sometimes I feel I could hug my haemo. Or the other haemo, the one who looks about 12.

Wish us luck tomorrow. We have no choice but to take DS with us. Nothing much gets past him so I expect to have him demand a full explanation of all unfamiliar terms later!

It’s good to see the haemo too, as I have had an awful headache and sickness since yesterday morning. How can I tell if it’s normal side effects of BCP, or something sinister?

The pack says not to take if I have a history of thrombosis (check) or migraine with aura (check) and to stop immediately if I have more migraines than usual.

Update for the superstitious: I played solitaire on my PDA twice and won both times, again.

~ by drownedgirl on April 9, 2007.

3 Responses to “This, that and the other.”

  1. …and missing with the stun gun or hitting the sheep with a glancing blow, just enough to make it stagger. That is beyond appalling that she left you there for 15 minutes while she found an adult. Glad you’ll be seeing “real” doctors tomorrow when you see the haemo.

    And this solitaire playing has me more and more convinced of twins!

  2. I’m regularly appalled at the crappy organisation and sometimes crappy attitude of our clinics. I think it’s interesting what yuo say that the same thing does not happen in haematology. Womens issues get less attention? Women are naturally hysterical so we don’t have to take their concerns seriously? Must think more about this.

  3. See the post I’m about to make about my trip to the hospital today!

Leave a Reply

 
