What baby?

Earlier…

Me, chatting to friend I haven’t seen for ages:  Shall we meet up after Easter?

Her: That would be lovely. How’s the baby?

Me: (Mind gone blank) What baby?

Her (Obviously mortified I’d forgotten to tell her about latest miscarriage): Err..

Me (Remembering now I was pregnant and sicky at her daughter’s birthday party in January): Oh, well, you know…

I felt quite bad. That’s happened before. I tell people I’m pregnant then forget to tell them when I miscarry.

Very sad.

~ by drownedgirl on April 1, 2007.

7 Responses to “What baby?”

  1. I’m so sorry for your losses. That happened with my first pregnancy. I was pg when I went to the dentist in June; in January, the office manager got up to help me off with my coat and she said “I can’t believe you’re hiding a baby under there!” I replied, “we lost him.” She thought I was making a wierd joke until my coat came off. I think I felt worse for her. Yeah, it sucks all around.

  2. Ugh. Been there. I don’t know who feels worse (OK, yes I do. Me b/c I’m reminded once again of what happened).

  3. So been there. Multiple times. That’s why it’s hard to keep track. Which makes it worse, actually.

  4. Hi,

    Been there, done that, got the t-shirt too hun! Its awful isnt it? I stopped telling people when i got pg so that way i wouldnt have that exact situation xx

  5. You sound just like me!

    I’m so bored of telling people, its become a joke!

  6. It was hard enough for me to explain it to everyone once. I really admire your guts. You’ve got more than me that’s for sure!

    Bless you.

    Cheers

    BC

  7. Oh.. and thank you for adding me to your blogroll

    Cheers (again)

    BC

Leave a Reply

 
