On a more practical note

I hope DP can get his blood results over the phone tomorrow and they confirm no live hepatitis virus. Then they’ll go to MrR at the Small but Enormously Friendly Clinic and he will check with the HFEA if he can treat us… if we get the go ahead, we need to confirm dates, and find some accommodation down near KF for the busiest week of the cycle.

Just in case the news is bad, I have mailed the HFEA to ask what their policy is likely to be, and also Chelsea and Westminster to ask them what they think, and what the cost/waiting time would be if we had to switch to them. No reply yet, of course.

That’s one of my pet peeves. How come services for women like  miscarriage clinics and fertility doctors, seem to be so low at responding and so hard to get answers from? In contrast, my haematologist is great, and on several occasions he has tracked down results for me and called me at home in the evening at 7pm to reassure me.  If he can be so upfront, so clear and make me feel so well looked after, why is it beyond most “womens’ doctors”?

The main reason why Small but Enormously Friendly Clinic felt right, was that my initial enquiries were met by a swift response from their embryologist, who got me all the info I wanted including things like likely drug requirements and cost… in sharp contrast to several other clinics, one of which is much much closer to KF’s house.

My final thought for today is that a “miscarriage buddy” of mine, who shared my September loss, with an EDD about the same time, and a similar scenario of “measuring a week behind, now you see the heartbeat, now you don’t”; then had a chemical pregnancy at the same time as me in November; and then got pregnant again at Christmas, but is on steroids for Natural Killer Cells for the first time, and is hanging in there… she has an 8 1/2 week scan tomorrow. I am really hoping that this is it for her.  Please think positive thoughts for her.

~ by drownedgirl on February 18, 2007.

2 Responses to “On a more practical note”

  1. Dear DrownedGirl, I just wanted to say I’m so glad you’ve moved on to a blog with comment capability!

    Clinics can be so frustrating — for so many it’s so obviously routine, but they forget how much is at stake for their patients. I hope you get some answers soon.

    And I hope, above all, that your cycle can start soon and that it is wonderfully successful.

  2. Fingers crossed for you, and fingers crossed for your friend. It’s time for everyone to have a bit (no, a lot) of good luck.

Leave a Reply

 
